Regional elections: Ashanti NPP Chair Wontumi, to go unopposed

Chairman of the Ashanti Regional branch of NPP

The incumbent Chairman of the Ashanti Regional branch of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP), Bernard Antwi Boasiako, popularly called Chairman Wontumi, will go unopposed in the party’s upcoming regional elections.

This is because his main contender, Asare Bediako, has stepped down, sources have told

Asare Bediako, before joining the race, was the Asokwa Constituency Chairman of the NPP, who vowed to unseat Wontumi.

It is currently unclear what informed Mr Bediako’s decision to opt out. Mr Bernard Antwi Boasiako is known for his no-nonsense approach which some believe played a pivotal role in the party’s victory in the 2016 elections.

Others are however of the view that he is impatient, and that his approach paints a negative picture of the party.

Some also say he’s a hardworking party member who understands grassroots politics, and also supports the party financially as an influential businessman.

Asare Bediako

NPP Regional executives’ election slated for April 21 to 24

The party is currently preparing to organize elections at the regional level from 21st to 24th April 2018.

This comes after similar elections took place for the polling station and constituency executives.

Troubles at polling station and constituency executives’ elections

The election of the polling station and constituency executives could not take place in some areas due to some unresolved issues.

John Boadu, the party’s acting General Secretary at a press conference held in March 2018, said they have been able to make strides in resolving such issues, adding that about 14 constituencies were unable to elect their executives.


In the Western Region, the acting General Secretary said the party has been able to resolve issues in the four troubled constituencies which included “Shama, Kwesimintsim and Sekondi, with the exception of Elembelle.”

He added that “the party has ordered for fresh polling station elections in the three constituencies which have started in earnest.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *