Parliament approves eleven deputy ministers

Parliament on Friday approved eleven deputy ministers appointed by the President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

They include, Kwaku Agyeman Kwarteng, Charles Adu Boahen and Abena Osei Asare, all deputy Finance Ministers.

Others are Dr. Mohammed Amin Adam, Owuraku Aidoo, Joseph Cudjoe, who are deputies to the Energy Minister and Henry Quartey, Deputy Interior Minister.

50 deputy ministers

The president has been ridiculed for appointing 50 deputy ministers thus bringing the total number of ministers in his administration at 110.

Although Akufo-Addo defended his decision some Ghanaians believe the ministers are too many for the small Ghanaian economy.

Parliament approves Deputy Regional Ministers

Parliament last week approved the 10 Deputy Regional Ministers appointed by the President.

This was after their screening by the Appointments Committee.

They were approved by consensus and have subsequently been sworn into office by the President.

Vetting continues after Parliament recess

Parliament is expected to go on recess next week but the Appointments Committee screening the deputies ministers is expected to continue with its work despite the break.

By: Godwin A. Allotey/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *