Curfew on Alavanyo and Nkonya renewed

Mr. Ambrose Derry, the Minister of the Interior, has on the advice of the Volta Regional Security Council and by Executive Instrument, renewed the curfew hours imposed on Alavanyo and Nkonya townships.

The renewed curfew, according to a statement signed by the Minister and copied to the media, starts from 11:00pm to 5:00am with effect from Friday, March 17, 2017.

It emphasized government’s appreciation to the chiefs, elders, opinion leaders, youth and people of the area for their efforts in ensuring peace and tranquility following the recent developments.

The statement urged all aggrieved persons in the area to use the established mechanisms for the resolution of their conflicts and disputes.

It cautioned all residents in the towns against carrying arms, ammunitions or any offensive weapons adding; “any persons found with any arms or ammunitions will be arrested and prosecuted.”

Source: GNA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *