Nana Addo creates 2 new ministries; others realigned

The latest list of ministerial nominees indicates that there will be two new ministries introduced under the Nana Akufo-Addo-led administration in addition to the National Security Ministry which is backed by law.

A list of ministerial appointments forwarded to parliament today [Wednesday], indicated that a Ministry of Monitoring and Evaluation, and a Ministry of Re-organisation and Special Projects have been created.

Member of Parliament for Old Tafo, Dr. Anthony Akoto Osei, has been nominated to head the Ministry of Monitoring and Evaluation, whilst the Member of Parliament for Okere, Dan Kweku Botwe, has been nominated to head the Ministry of Re-organisation and Special Projects.

Ministry overseeing railway sector reintroduced

The Ministry of Railways Development, similar to one which existed under the erstwhile Kufuor government from as the Ministry of Ports, Harbours & Railways, has also been reintroduced with a new name.


Joe Ghartey

The ministry has been carved out of the Transport Ministry and the MP for Essikado-Ketan in the Western Region, Joe Ghartey, has been nominated to head it.

Ministry of Water Resources Works and Housing split

In other cases, existing ministries have been realigned.

Out of the Ministry of Water Resources, Works and Housing, a new Ministry to be known as the Ministry for Sanitation and Water Resources has been created, leaving the Works and Housing Ministry on its own.


Samuel Atta Akyea and Joseph Adda

Pending parliamentary approval, the Ministry of Water Resources and Sanitation will be headed by the MP for Navrongo, Joseph Adda, whilst the Ministry for Works and Housing will be headed by the MP for the Abuakwa South constituency, Samuel Atta Akyea.

These nominations form part of seven others nominated to occupy various ministerial positions in the new government.

All the nominees will be vetted and confirmed to serve in their respective offices as Ministers if they are found approved by the vetting committee of Parliament.

Find the full list of the latest nominations below:

1. Minister for Monitoring and Evaluation – Dr Anthony Akoto Osei
2. Minister for Regional Reorganisation and Special Projects – Dan Botwe
3. Minister for Lands and Forestry – John Peter Amewu
4. Minister for Gender and Social Protection – Otiko Djaba
5. Minister for Employment and Labour Relations – Ignatius Baffour Awuah
6. Minister for Transport – Kwaku Ofori Asiamah
7. Minister for Railways Development – Joe Ghartey
8. Minister for Roads and Highways – Kwesi Amoako Atta
9. Minister for Communications – Ursula Owusu
10. Minister for Water Resources and Sanitation – Kofi Adda
11. Minister for Works and Housing – Samuel Atta Akyea
12. Minister for Environment Science and Technology – Prof Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng

By: Delali Adogla-Bessa/