Nana Addo’s backroom staff operating in acting capacity

The backroom staff appointments made by President Nana Akufo-Addo will be carrying out their duties in acting capacity, until the constitution of a new Council of State.

The Presidential Office Act dictates that the President of the Republic is to appoint presidential staff in consultation with the Council of State.

However, a Council of State is yet to be constituted under the Akufo-Addo-led administration.

In this light, the National Security Adviser, the National Security Co-coordinator, the Chief of Staff and the two deputies, the Secretary to the President, the Director of Research, the Director of Operations, the Director of Communications, the Personal Assistant to the President and Presidential Staffers, will be carrying out their duties in an acting capacity.

A statement from the Director of Communications at the Presidency, Eugene Arhin, released on Monday, indeed confirmed that he is operating in an acting capacity.


President Akufo-Addo on Wednesday, January 4, 2017, announced the names of persons making up his administrative staff at the Flagstaff House.

Announcing his staff, the President named Frema Osei-Opare as his Chief of Staff making her the first woman to take up that position. He also announced Francis Asenso-Boakye and Samuel Abu Jinapor will be the two deputies to the Chief of Staff.

Nana Addo staff

A lawyer, Nana Bediatuo Asante, was appointed as the President’s Executive Secretary whilst Eugene Arhin was named Director of Communications at the Presidency.

Brigadier General Emmanuel Okyere was also chosen as the National Secretary Advisor.

The full list of appointments can be viewed here.

By: Delali Adogla-Bessa/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *