Ghana’s Mandela Washington Fellows depart for United States

2016 Mandela Washington Fellows from Ghana.

Selected from nearly 2,000 applicants from throughout the country, 41 young leaders will represent Ghana in the United States over the next six weeks.

The high-achieving cohort of Mandela Washington Fellows includes entrepreneurs, public servants, media practitioners and civil society members. Among the media practitioners are Citi FM’s Deputy Director of News Programming, Nana Boakye-Yiadom.

The Fellows represent all ten regions of Ghana. Their biographies are available on the U.S. Embassy’s Facebook page at:

The Mandela Washington Fellowship is the flagship program of President Barack Obama’s Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI), which was launched in 2010. A total of 1,000 Mandela Washington Fellows from sub-Saharan African countries will spend the next six weeks in the United States. Forty different American universities will host groups of 25 Fellows for intensive academic coursework and leadership training.

Three of Ghana’s Fellows will join a newly created energy-focused institute at the University of California, Davis. The institute will provide Fellows with core leadership skills, legal and policy reform solutions, and best practices for addressing the energy challenges facing African nations.

On August 1-3, all 1,000 Fellows will assemble in Washington, D.C., for a Presidential Summit convened by President Obama. Upon their return to Ghana in August 2016, the Fellows will continue to build the skills they have developed during their time in the United States through support from the U.S. Embassy, the YALI Regional Leadership Center West Africa, the YALI Network, and customized programming from the U.S. Agency for International Development and affiliated partners.

The Young African Leaders Initiative is a key part of President Obama’s commitment to invest in the future of Africa.

His administration created this initiative out of the recognition that young Africans are playing a critical and increasing role in strengthening democratic institutions, spurring economic growth, and enhancing peace and security in Africa.

Below is the full list.

Marigold Adu
Opoku Afriyie-Asante
Ahmed Amuquandoh
Maame Ankoh
Kwasi Anomah-Kordieh
Bathemel Appiah
Jeffrey Arhin
Benedict Arkhurst
Adjo Asare
Lamise Atinga
Nicholine Azirh
Yaganoma Baatuolkuu
Laud Anthony Basing
Nana Boakye-Yiadom
Hilda Boye
Emmanuel Kofi Danso
Frederick Danso
Doris Darkwah
Susana Dartey
Portia Dery
Nana Adjoa Entsuah
Solomon Faakye
Josephine Godwyll
Nana Akosua Hanson
Isaac Korang
Henry Kyeremeh
Diana Mensah
Mutaru Mumuni
Jamal Musah
Abdul Hameed Mustapha
Marco Nyarko
Mary Nyarko
Bernard Oduro Takyi
Stephen Ofori
Frank Osei
Akosua Osei-Appaw
Lincoln Peedah
Ramatu Safiano Baba
Florence Toffa
Elorm Rita Tsali
Mary Watson


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *