VGMA 2014: Sarkodie, Guru, Shatta Wale & Samini battle for ‘Artiste Of The Year’


Shatta Wale

Shatta Wale

Self acclaimed ‘Dancehall King’, Shatta Wale has been pitched against fiercest opponent Samini for the most coveted award of ‘Artiste of the Year’ for the 2014 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards. Sarkodie, Guru, Kwabena Kwabena, Castro and Sonnie Badu complete the list.

At last year’s event, a car was added to the price package for ‘Artiste of the Year’ but the 2014 awards which is the 15th VGMA’s would see the car go to ‘New Artiste of the Year.’

These were disclosed on Saturday March 1 at the nominee’s launch at the Golden Tulip Hotel in Accra.

Here is the full list of nominees for the 2014 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards:

Artsite of the Year
Kwabena Kwabena
Sonnie Badu
Shatta Wale

New Artiste of the Year

Joey B
Kumi Guitar

Highlife Artiste of the Year
Bisa Kdei
Kwabena Kwabena

Gospel Song of the Year

Osoree Nnwom – Cecelia Marfo
Maher-Shalal-Hash-Baz- Nicholas Omane Acheampong
Wonder God – Sonnie Badu
Maye Se Mo Pen – OJ
Nyame Egwamaa – Joyce Blessing feat. Jewel Ackah
Menu – Patience Nyarko

Best Female Vocal Performance

Efya – Life
Joyce Blessing – Nyame Egwamaa
Miriam Afari – Ashei Nyame
Gena West – No Power Against Me

Best Male Vocal Performance

Sonnie Badu – Wonder God
OJ- Maye Se Mo Pen
Knii Lante – Baby Take Good Care
Kwabena Kwabena – Engya Me Ho
Castro – Odo Pa

African Artiste of the Year


Gospel Artiste of the Year

Sonnie Badu
Nicholas Omane Acheapong
Joyce Blessing
Patience Nyarko

Hiplife/ Hip Hop Artiste of the Year

Joey B

Afro Pop Song of the Year

Latext – Edem feat. Kaaki
Million Pound Girl – Fuse ODG
Dance (Neke Neke) – Itz Tiffany
Slow – R2Bees feat. Wizkid
Dance For Ne – Ruff N Smooth

Highlife Song of the Year

Adult Music – Kwabena Kwabena
Odo Pa – Castro feat. Baby Jet & Kofi Kinaata
Love – R2Bees
Metanfo-  Bisa Kdei
Break Into 2 – Kumi Guitar

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year

Freaky Girl – Jupiter
Pull Up – Stonebwoy
Hot Cake – Pope Skinny feat. Shatta Wale
Dancehall King – Shatta Wale
Fever – D2 feat. Shatta Wale
Scatter Badmind – Samini

Vodafone Song of the Year

Adult Music – Kwabena Kwabena feat. Samini
Odo Pa – Castro Feat. Baby Jet & Kofi Kinaata
Slow Down – R2Bees Feat. Wizkid
Dancehall King – Shatta Wale
Metanfo – Bisa Kdei
Tonga – Joey B feat. Sarkodie
Maye Se Mo pen – OJ
Akaiyida (Boys Abr3) – Guru
Down On One – Sarkodie feat. Fuse ODG
Million Pound Girl – Fuse ODG

Record of the Year

Trigmatic – Wo Sika Nti
Knii Lante – Baby Take Good Care
Tseataa (Josh Laryea) – Everlasting Love
Akwaboah – I Do Love You

Best Collaboration of the Year

Odo Pa – Castro feat. Baby Jet & Kofi Kinaata
Down On One- Sarkodie feat. Fuse ODG
Slow Down – R2Bees feat. Wizkid
Adult Music-Kwabena Kwabena
Azonto Boys-Guru Feat. Lil Win
Hot Cake-Pope Skinny Feat. Shatta Wale
Nyame Egwamaa-Joyce Blessing Feat. Jewel Ackah

Album of the Year

Sarkology – Sarkodie
Heavy Price- Joyce Blessing
Aroma of Worship – Sonnie Badu
Akaiyida (Boys Abr3) – Guru

Song Writer of the Year

Maye Se Mo Pen – OJ
Wo Sika Nti – Trigmatic
Engya Me Ho – Kwabena Kwabena
Baby Take Good Care – Knii Lante
Baba – Kisa Kdei



By: Martin Asiedu-Dartey/